Free US shipping for orders above $200

Available Now In The Library

SS-31 Peptide Dosage Chart: Reconstitution Units, Protocol Sheet & the Elamipretide FDA Label

SS-31 is one of the very few peptides in the research market with an FDA-approved product behind it. Elamipretide was approved in 2025 as Forzinity, which means this compound has something almost none of its neighbours have: a real label, with a real dose, real pharmacokinetics, a real adverse-reaction table and a real account of what the trial found. This guide is built from that label and from the trial registry rather than from vendor copy - including the parts that are less flattering than the marketing, such as the fact that the registration trial missed both of its primary endpoints. It also covers the mechanism, the research-community dosage figures and how they compare with the approved one, and the reconstitution arithmetic with a calculator. Educational reference material only, not medical advice.

Selected: Standard Access

Standard Access: This compound's three paid filesAll-Access Lifetime: all 55 guides + every printableEducational content only
SS-31 educational module visual
SS-31 Guide: Available Now

Educational use only — not medical advice. This guide summarizes information reported in published research and community practice for educational purposes. It is not medical advice and not a recommendation to use any compound. Any doses, schedules, or combinations shown are examples of what has been reported, not instructions for you. Many peptides described here are research compounds that are not FDA-approved for the uses discussed and may be investigational or restricted. Effects, risks, and legal status vary; individual needs and results vary. Consult a qualified, licensed healthcare professional before making any decision. Do not use this content to diagnose, treat, or dose yourself.

SS-31 at a glance

What it is
A synthetic mitochondria-targeting tetrapeptide, D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2 (Dmt = 2',6'-dimethyltyrosine). C32H49N9O5, average molecular weight 639.8 Da, PubChem CID 11764719. Known across its development history as SS-31, MTP-131, Bendavia and elamipretide; the approved product is Forzinity.
Approval status
FDA-approved in 2025 (Forzinity, elamipretide hydrochloride injection, Stealth BioTherapeutics) to improve muscle strength in adult and paediatric patients with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg. This is an accelerated approval based on an intermediate endpoint, with continued approval contingent on confirmatory trials.
Mechanism, per the label
"A mitochondrial cardiolipin binder that localizes to the inner mitochondrial membrane and improves mitochondrial morphology and function." That is the FDA-approved mechanism statement verbatim, not a paraphrase.
Approved dose
40 mg subcutaneously once daily, at the same time each day, in patients weighing at least 30 kg; reduced in severe renal impairment. Research-community discussion typically reports far lower figures - see the dosage section for why that gap matters.
What the trial found
The randomised crossover trial in 12 Barth syndrome patients did not beat placebo on either primary endpoint (6-minute walk distance and Total Fatigue Score). Approval rests on knee extensor muscle strength, a secondary endpoint, and gains appeared only during the open-label extension rather than the randomised period.
Pharmacokinetics
From the label: exposure is dose-proportional from 2 to 80 mg with minimal accumulation; Tmax 0.5-1 hour; absolute subcutaneous bioavailability approximately 92%; volume of distribution ~0.5 L/kg; plasma protein binding ~39%; roughly 100% of the dose recovered in urine within 48 hours.
Half-life
The label does not state one. It gives Tmax, bioavailability, distribution, metabolism and complete urinary recovery by 48 hours, but no elimination half-life figure - so numbers quoted elsewhere are not coming from the label.
Formulation contrast
The approved product is a ready-to-use 80 mg/mL aqueous solution preserved with benzyl alcohol, discarded 8 days after first puncture. Research-market SS-31 ships lyophilised and has to be reconstituted, which is why the arithmetic on this page exists.
Research-market status
SS-31 sold as a lyophilised research vial is not the approved product, is not approved for any use in that form, and is supplied for research and educational use only.

Reported ranges from research/community — examples, not recommendations.

What it is / mechanism

SS-31 is a tetrapeptide with an unusual design brief: get into the inner mitochondrial membrane and stay there. Its sequence is D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, where Dmt is 2',6'-dimethyltyrosine, and the alternating aromatic-cationic pattern is the point rather than an accident. The molecule carries a net positive charge that draws it toward the strongly negative membrane potential inside mitochondria, and the aromatic residues give it enough lipophilicity to partition into the membrane once it arrives. The D-arginine at the N-terminus is there for stability: swapping in the D-isomer makes the peptide substantially more resistant to the aminopeptidases that would otherwise chew it from that end. Molecular weight is 639.8 Da (C32H49N9O5), which is large for a tetrapeptide because of the dimethylated tyrosine. The FDA-approved label states the mechanism in one sentence: elamipretide is "a mitochondrial cardiolipin binder that localizes to the inner mitochondrial membrane and improves mitochondrial morphology and function." It is worth pausing on how unusual it is to be able to quote a regulator-reviewed mechanism statement for a compound in this market. Almost every other peptide on a research-supplier site has a mechanism section assembled from primary papers and inference. This one has a mechanism section that a regulatory agency reviewed and permitted. Cardiolipin is what makes the target specific. It is a phospholipid found essentially only in the inner mitochondrial membrane, where it makes up a large fraction of the lipid content and does structural work that ordinary phospholipids do not. Cardiolipin stabilises the cristae - the folds that give the inner membrane its enormous surface area - and it physically organises the respiratory chain complexes, holding them in the supercomplex arrangements that make electron transport efficient. It also anchors cytochrome c to the membrane. When cardiolipin is damaged by oxidation or is abnormal in structure, cristae architecture degrades, respiratory supercomplexes disassemble, electron transport becomes leakier, and cytochrome c is released more readily. SS-31 binds cardiolipin and, on the model the development programme was built around, restores that architecture rather than adding an antioxidant or a substrate. Barth syndrome is why this mechanism found a clinical home. It is a rare X-linked disorder caused by mutations in the tafazzin gene, whose product remodels cardiolipin into its mature form. Patients therefore have structurally abnormal cardiolipin from birth, along with cardiomyopathy, skeletal muscle weakness and neutropenia. A drug whose entire mechanism is cardiolipin binding and cristae stabilisation is about as mechanistically targeted at that disease as a molecule can be, which is why the indication that ultimately succeeded was this one rather than the larger populations the programme originally pursued. The compound's name history is worth untangling, because it causes real confusion in supplier listings and search results. It originated in academic work as SS-31 - the Szeto-Schiller series, hence the SS - was developed clinically as MTP-131, carried the trade name Bendavia during its cardiovascular reperfusion-injury phase, was renamed elamipretide as its international non-proprietary name, and is marketed as Forzinity. Five names, one molecule. A research supplier listing "SS-31" and a pharmacy dispensing "Forzinity" are referring to the same peptide, though not to the same product - the formulations are entirely different, as the reconstitution section explains. One thing the mechanism does not do is generalise as easily as it reads. A molecule that improves mitochondrial membrane architecture sounds as though it should help any condition with mitochondrial involvement, and that is precisely the reasoning the clinical programme tested at scale across primary mitochondrial myopathy, cardiovascular reperfusion injury, heart failure and retinal disease. The results of those trials are covered in the evidence and dosage sections, and they are a useful lesson in how far a clean mechanism carries on its own.

Researched effects

The effect claims for SS-31 are best read in two columns: what the approved label supports, and what the wider trial programme actually produced. The label supports one thing, narrowly. Forzinity is indicated to improve muscle strength in adult and paediatric Barth syndrome patients weighing at least 30 kg, and the approval is an accelerated one based on knee extensor muscle strength measured by handheld dynamometry - explicitly described in the label as an intermediate clinical endpoint, with continued approval contingent on verification of clinical benefit in confirmatory trials. That is a real, regulator-reviewed efficacy finding in a rare disease, and it is the only approved effect claim that exists for this molecule anywhere. The registration trial itself is worth describing honestly, because it is more complicated than "approved for Barth syndrome" implies and no commercial page seems to say so. It enrolled 12 patients, aged 12 to 35, with genetically confirmed Barth syndrome, in a double-blind placebo-controlled crossover design: 12 weeks of elamipretide, a 4-week washout, 12 weeks of placebo, or the reverse order. The primary endpoints were distance walked in a 6-minute walk test and Total Fatigue Score on the Barth Syndrome Symptom Assessment. The label states plainly that Forzinity was not superior to placebo on those primary endpoints. Ten patients completed and entered an open-label extension; eight reached Week 168 and three reached Week 192. Knee extensor strength - a secondary endpoint - showed no increase during the randomised trial, and increases were observed during the extension period. Median baseline strength was 124 newtons (range 92 to 176). So the approved effect rests on a secondary endpoint that moved in an uncontrolled open-label extension rather than in the randomised comparison, in a total population of twelve people. That is not a reason to dismiss it - in an ultra-rare disease with no alternative, regulators weigh evidence differently, and the accelerated-approval pathway exists precisely for this situation, with the confirmatory-trial requirement as the safeguard. It is a reason to be accurate about what has and has not been demonstrated, especially when the same molecule is sold as a research chemical to people extrapolating from the word "approved." Outside Barth syndrome, the record is largely one of well-designed trials that did not deliver. The clinical programme was broad and serious: a Phase 3 trial in primary mitochondrial myopathy, terminated; earlier intravenous work on reperfusion injury in patients undergoing angioplasty under the Bendavia name, terminated; multiple Phase 1/2 studies in mitochondrial myopathy and skeletal muscle function; and topical ophthalmic formulations tested in Phase 2. A Phase 3 study of subcutaneous elamipretide in retinal disease remains active. The pattern across that programme is the substantive finding: a compound with a clean, specific, well-characterised mechanism repeatedly failed to convert it into endpoint-level benefit in larger populations, and succeeded only in the rare disease where the mechanism maps onto the causal defect directly. What gets reported in research-community settings - improved endurance, faster recovery, subjective energy - has no controlled data behind it at all. It is not supported by the label, which makes no such claim, and it is not supported by the failed trials, several of which were specifically powered to detect exactly that kind of functional improvement in people with genuine mitochondrial impairment. Anyone reading anecdotal reports of an energy effect should weigh them against a 6-minute walk test that did not separate from placebo. Nothing here is a claim that SS-31 treats, prevents or improves any condition outside its single approved indication, and nothing here is medical advice.

Evidence & regulatory status

  • FORZINITY (elamipretide) injection, for subcutaneous use - FDA-approved prescribing information, Stealth BioTherapeutics Inc., Initial U.S. Approval 2025 (DailyMed SPL setid 146bf34c-76f2-48db-ac07-fb29cce2cd75, label version published December 2025). The single most authoritative source on this compound: approved indication, dosing, mechanism statement, full pharmacokinetics, adverse-reaction table, clinical-study description, formulation, storage and warnings. Everything on this page attributed to "the label" comes from this document.
  • Registration trial, as described in Section 14 of the label: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover trial of 40 mg subcutaneous elamipretide once daily for 12 weeks in 12 subjects aged 12 and over, weighing more than 30 kg, with genetically confirmed Barth syndrome, followed by a 192-week open-label single-arm extension. Primary endpoints were 6-minute walk distance and Total Fatigue Score; the label states elamipretide was not superior to placebo on either. Knee extensor strength increases were not observed during the randomised trial and were observed during the extension.
  • Approval basis: accelerated approval on knee extensor muscle strength as an intermediate clinical endpoint, with the label stating that continued approval may be contingent upon verification and description of clinical benefit in confirmatory trial(s). This is the standard caveat for accelerated approval and it is part of the approved labelling, not an editorial gloss.
  • Pharmacokinetics, Section 12.3 of the label: exposure increases proportionally over 2 to 80 mg with daily subcutaneous injection and minimal accumulation; Cmax reached 0.5-1 hour post-dose; absolute subcutaneous bioavailability approximately 92%; exposure comparable for thigh and abdominal injection; volume of distribution approximately 0.5 L/kg; plasma protein binding approximately 39%; metabolised by sequential C-terminal degradation to pharmacologically inactive M1 tripeptide and M2 dipeptide metabolites; approximately 100% of the dose recovered in urine as parent or metabolites at 48 hours in patients with normal renal function.
  • Renal impairment data, Section 12.3: exposure (AUC) increased 39% with creatinine clearance 60-89 mL/min, 75% at 30-59 mL/min, and 125% below 30 mL/min in patients not on dialysis - which is the basis for the label's dose reduction in severe renal impairment, and a reminder that this molecule is cleared renally.
  • Cardiac safety, Section 12.2: clinically significant QTc interval prolongation was not observed at three times the peak concentration of the maximum recommended dose.
  • Adverse reactions, Section 6.1: in the 12-patient safety population, reactions more common on elamipretide than placebo were injection-site reactions - erythema, pain, induration, pruritus, bruising and urticaria. Note the exposure denominator: 12 patients, 11 of whom were Caucasian, all male, aged 12 to 35.
  • Wider clinical programme, per ClinicalTrials.gov: NCT03323749, a Phase 3 trial of elamipretide in primary mitochondrial myopathy, terminated; NCT01755858, intravenous Bendavia for reperfusion injury in angioplasty patients, terminated; NCT02367014 and NCT02245620, Phase 1/2 and Phase 2 studies of MTP-131 in mitochondrial myopathy and skeletal muscle function, completed; NCT02653391 and NCT02693119, completed Phase 1/2 and Phase 2 studies of a topical formulation; NCT06373731 (ReNEW), a Phase 3 study of subcutaneous elamipretide in retinal disease, active and not recruiting. The breadth of this programme, and the number of terminations in it, is itself evidence about how far the mechanism generalises.
  • Chemical identity: PubChem CID 11764719, molecular formula C32H49N9O5, average molecular weight 639.8. Sequence D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2. Development and trade names across the programme: SS-31, MTP-131, Bendavia, elamipretide, Forzinity.

Dosage — reported ranges (overview)

SS-31 is one of the rare cases where an approved human dose exists, which makes the dosage discussion both easier and more awkward than usual. The approved dose is 40 mg subcutaneously once daily for patients weighing at least 30 kg, administered at the same time each day. If a dose is missed, the label directs skipping it rather than doubling up. The dose is reduced in adults with severe renal impairment, for a reason the pharmacokinetics make plain: elamipretide and its two metabolites are cleared almost entirely in urine, with roughly 100% of a dose recovered there by 48 hours, and exposure rises by 125% in patients with creatinine clearance below 30 mL/min. This is a renally cleared molecule and the label treats it as one. The research community commonly reports figures around 5 to 10 mg once daily - roughly a quarter to an eighth of the approved dose. That gap is worth sitting with rather than glossing over, because it is unusual. In most peptide categories the community figure exceeds anything a regulator would sanction. Here it is dramatically lower, and there is no published rationale for the lower figure: no dose-ranging study identified 5 to 10 mg as a threshold of activity, no trial tested it, and the label's own pharmacokinetic data show linear, dose-proportional exposure with minimal accumulation all the way from 2 mg to 80 mg, which means there is no exposure ceiling being avoided in that range. The most plausible explanation for the community figure is cost - at research-market prices, 40 mg per day is a great deal of peptide - rather than any evidence that a lower amount does the same thing. That should cut in a specific direction when reading community reports. If someone reports no effect at 5 mg per day, that is not evidence about the compound, because the only dose ever shown to do anything in a controlled setting is eight times larger. And if someone reports a large effect at 5 mg per day, it is worth remembering that 40 mg per day in genuinely mitochondrially impaired patients did not beat placebo on a 6-minute walk test. The trial regimen provides the only durable frequency data. Dosing in the registration programme was once daily, at a consistent time, sustained over 12 weeks in the randomised phase and continued for up to 192 weeks in the extension - a genuinely long exposure record for a peptide, and the source of the only long-term tolerability information that exists. There is no cycling in the approved regimen. The community habit of running peptides in four-to-eight-week blocks with breaks has no counterpart in how this compound was actually studied, where continuous daily administration for years is the pattern the evidence describes. One administration detail from the label is worth carrying over because it answers a question people ask constantly and rarely get sourced: subcutaneous exposure was comparable whether the injection went into the thigh or the abdomen. That is a measured pharmacokinetic finding rather than a rule of thumb, and it is specific to this molecule rather than a general principle. Finally, the formulation difference makes a dose figure less transferable than it looks. The approved product is a solution at 80 mg/mL; the approved 40 mg dose is therefore 0.5 mL of a manufactured, preservative-containing, quality-controlled solution. Research-market SS-31 is a lyophilised powder of unverified content that the buyer reconstitutes. The number 40 mg means something different in those two contexts, and the reconstitution section deals with the arithmetic side of that. Everything above describes an approved regimen and what has been reported, for educational purposes. It is not a recommendation, and SS-31 purchased as a research chemical is not the approved product and is not approved for use in any person.

A printable protocol sheet with a reconstitution reference and an injection log comes with All-Access Lifetime.

Reconstitution — bac-water math

There is a formulation difference here that most guides skip, and it changes what reconstitution means for this compound. The FDA-approved product does not require any: Forzinity ships as a clear, colourless-to-yellow aqueous solution at 80 mg/mL in 280 mg / 3.5 mL single-patient-use vials, preserved with benzyl alcohol, ready to draw. Research-market SS-31 is the opposite - a lyophilised powder, commonly in 50 mg vials, which has to be reconstituted with bacteriostatic water before anything can be measured out of it. The arithmetic below applies to the research format, not to the approved one. The method is standard: concentration in mg per mL is the vial's mg divided by the mL of bacteriostatic water added, and syringe units are (target mg / concentration in mg per mL) x 100, since a U-100 insulin syringe holds 1 mL across 100 units. The table works a 50 mg vial at four volumes against the 5 mg and 10 mg amounts commonly discussed in research settings - shown as arithmetic examples, not as recommendations. It is worth running the same check on the approved dose for perspective: 40 mg fits a single 1 mL U-100 syringe only at the most concentrated preparation below (0.8 mL, or 80 units, at 50 mg/mL), and would need 1.6 mL at 25 mg/mL and 4 mL at 10 mg/mL - which is one reason the manufactured product is supplied at 80 mg/mL rather than as a powder. The calculator on this page will run the same computation for any vial size and volume.

Bac water addedConcentration5 mg (example)10 mg (example)
1 mL50 mg/mL10 units20 units
2 mL25 mg/mL20 units40 units
3 mL16.7 mg/mL30 units60 units
5 mL10 mg/mL50 units100 units

This is concentration math, not a dose recommendation.

Injection / administration basics

The approved label gives an unusually complete picture of how this molecule is administered in clinical practice, and it is a better reference than anything reconstructed from community discussion. Forzinity is given by subcutaneous injection into the abdomen - at least two inches from the navel - or the outer thigh, rotating the site daily. The label instructs patients not to inject where skin is tender, bruised, red or hard, and to avoid scars and stretch marks. It requires aseptic technique, directs visual inspection of each vial for particulate matter and cloudiness before use with instructions not to use cloudy or particulate-containing solution, and specifies that the product is single-patient-use and must not be mixed with other products in the same syringe. Dosing is once daily at the same time each day. The product is explicitly not approved for intravenous use. Injection-site reactions - erythema, pain, induration, pruritus, bruising or urticaria - are the most common adverse reactions, and the label notes they can be treated with antihistamines or topical corticosteroids. Two of these details are more informative than they first appear. The thigh-versus-abdomen equivalence is a pharmacokinetic finding, not a convenience statement: the label reports comparable exposure at both sites, which means site selection for this molecule is genuinely a matter of rotation and comfort rather than absorption. And the instruction to discard the vial 8 days after first opening is a preservative-driven in-use limit, discussed further in the storage section. Where research-market SS-31 is used subcutaneously after reconstitution, the general handling pattern is the same - U-100 insulin syringe, aseptic technique, subcutaneous site, daily rotation, avoiding compromised tissue - with the important difference that a self-reconstituted vial has none of the manufacturing controls behind the approved solution. A worked step-by-step version, a printable protocol sheet and a blank injection log come with All-Access Lifetime. This section describes an approved product's labelled administration and general handling concepts for educational purposes. It is not an administration protocol, it does not apply to research-market material, and nothing here is medical advice. Forzinity is a prescription medicine and a qualified professional should direct any actual use.

Half-life & frequency rationale

The FDA-approved label does not state an elimination half-life for elamipretide. That is worth saying explicitly, because it is a genuinely unusual gap in an otherwise detailed pharmacokinetics section, and because half-life figures for SS-31 do circulate without attribution. What the label does provide is substantial, and in practice more useful than a single number. Exposure increases proportionally across a dose range of 2 to 80 mg with daily subcutaneous injection, and accumulation is minimal - which is itself the most practically relevant half-life statement available, since a compound that does not accumulate on once-daily dosing is clearing substantially within the dosing interval. Maximum concentrations are reached 0.5 to 1 hour after subcutaneous administration, so absorption is fast. Absolute subcutaneous bioavailability is approximately 92%, which is high, and exposure is comparable between thigh and abdominal injection. Distribution is throughout total body water at a volume of approximately 0.5 L/kg, with low plasma protein binding of around 39%. Elimination is characterised in structural terms rather than temporal ones. Elamipretide is metabolised by sequential C-terminal degradation to an M1 tripeptide and an M2 dipeptide, neither of which has pharmacological activity, and parent plus both metabolites are excreted in urine, with approximately 100% of the dose recovered there by 48 hours in patients with normal renal function. Complete urinary recovery within 48 hours puts a real outer bound on how long the molecule and its fragments persist, even without a stated t-half. The practical reading is that this behaves as a rapidly absorbed, rapidly and renally cleared peptide dosed once daily without accumulation, and that once-daily dosing in the approved regimen reflects that profile rather than a long duration of action. If you encounter a specific half-life figure for SS-31, it did not come from the approved label - which is the most authoritative pharmacokinetic source that exists for this compound - and the useful question is which study did produce it.

Side effects, safety & contraindications

SS-31 is in the unusual position of having a real, regulator-reviewed adverse-reaction table - and of that table being very small, which matters more than its contents. In the registration programme, 12 male patients aged 12 to 35 with genetically confirmed Barth syndrome received 40 mg subcutaneous elamipretide daily; eleven of the twelve were Caucasian. Adverse reactions occurring more commonly on elamipretide than on placebo were injection-site reactions: erythema, pain, induration, pruritus, bruising and urticaria. The label notes these can be managed with antihistamines or topical corticosteroids. Long-term exposure is genuinely substantial for a peptide - eight patients continued for 168 weeks and three for 192 weeks - so the tolerability signal over years is real even though the population is tiny. But twelve patients is twelve patients. A safety database that size can only detect common events. Anything occurring in fewer than roughly one in four people would not reliably appear, and the population was narrow in age, sex, ethnicity and underlying disease. Treating this as a general safety clearance for a broadly used compound is not what the data supports. The label carries two specific warnings. The first is benzyl alcohol toxicity: the formulation contains benzyl alcohol as a preservative, and the product must not be used in neonates. The label describes gasping syndrome - a life-threatening condition in neonates caused by benzyl alcohol toxicity, characterised by multiorgan dysfunction secondary to metabolic acidosis - reported in low-birth-weight and preterm neonates given benzyl-alcohol-containing drugs intravenously, and notes that Forzinity is not approved for intravenous use. This warning is directly relevant to anyone reconstituting research peptides, because bacteriostatic water is preserved with the same agent; it is a reason the standard guidance against using bacteriostatic water for neonates exists at all. The second is hypersensitivity: serious hypersensitivity to elamipretide or any excipient is a contraindication. On cardiac safety the label is reassuring within its limits: clinically significant QTc prolongation was not observed at three times the peak concentration of the maximum recommended dose. And the renal data are a caution rather than a harm - exposure rises by 39%, 75% and 125% across declining creatinine clearance bands, which is why the approved dose is reduced in severe renal impairment. None of the above characterises the safety of research-market SS-31, which is a different product. A lyophilised vial from a research supplier has not been through the manufacturing, identity, purity, endotoxin and sterility controls behind an approved injectable solution, and its actual content is established only by whatever certificate of analysis accompanies it. This section describes the published safety record of an approved medicine for educational purposes; it is not a safety assessment of anything sold for research use, and it is not medical advice.

Stacking — overview

SS-31 sits awkwardly in stack discussion, and the reason is worth understanding rather than working around. Most peptide stacking logic is about combining signalling pathways - a growth-hormone secretagogue with a releasing hormone, a repair peptide with an anti-inflammatory one. SS-31 does not signal. Its mechanism is structural: it binds a phospholipid and stabilises membrane architecture. There is no receptor to collide with, no axis to saturate, and no feedback loop to blunt, which means the usual class-collision reasoning simply does not apply to it in either direction. What that produces in practice is a compound that gets paired with metabolic and mitochondrial peptides on thematic grounds rather than mechanistic ones. Pairings with MOTS-c and with NAD+ precursors appear in community discussion built around a general mitochondrial-function theme; the honest description is that these combinations share a subject matter, not a demonstrated interaction. No controlled study has tested SS-31 alongside any other peptide, and the clinical programme studied it as a monotherapy throughout. The more useful framing for anyone reading stack content about this compound is the one the trial record supplies. Elamipretide was tested at a properly powered scale in populations with genuine mitochondrial dysfunction and did not produce endpoint-level functional benefit outside Barth syndrome. A combination rationale that starts from "SS-31 improves mitochondrial function, so add it to anything metabolic" is starting from a premise the Phase 3 programme did not support. That is not an argument against the compound; it is an argument for reading combination claims about it with the trial record in view. The cross-compound Stacking Guide covers combination logic, class collisions and blend arithmetic across the library. Paid access to this guide adds the SS-31 Stacking Module alongside the printable protocol sheet and injection log.

SS-31 + MOTS-c

The most commonly discussed pairing, grouped under a general mitochondrial theme. The two mechanisms are unrelated - one is structural membrane binding, the other is AMPK-linked metabolic signalling - so the rationale is thematic rather than mechanistic. Untested in combination.

SS-31 + NAD+ precursors

Framed around electron-transport and redox cofactor supply alongside membrane architecture. No study has examined the combination, and neither component has controlled human data supporting the functional outcome the pairing is discussed for.

SS-31 as monotherapy

How the compound was actually studied. The entire clinical programme - Barth syndrome, primary mitochondrial myopathy, reperfusion injury, retinal disease - tested elamipretide alone, and the approved regimen is monotherapy.

Not applicable: GH-axis stacks

Listed to correct a common assumption. SS-31 has no receptor activity at any growth-hormone-axis target, so it neither collides with nor complements secretagogue and releasing-hormone combinations; grouping it with them is a category error rather than a stack.

Stacking across compounds

The overview above covers SS-31. The cross-compound material — which pairings are redundant rather than additive, where interaction risk is documented versus merely unstudied, and the blend arithmetic worked end to end — lives in the Peptide Stacking Guide, which is free to read in outline and $39 in full (included with All-Access Lifetime).

Included with this guide

The SS-31 Stacking Module

The overview above is the free summary. The SS-31 Stacking Module goes through each combination in depth — the mechanism-level reason it is proposed, what is actually reported in practice, and the cautions specific to that pairing — plus what to avoid and why. Included with SS-31 Standard Access.

  • How to think about stacking SS-314 principles
  • 2 combinations covered in detail
  • What to avoid, and why — 3 items
  • Combination-specific cautions

Combinations covered: Mitochondrial support, Cellular-aging stack.

For how combinations are grouped by research context, the named blends, and why a pre-mixed blend vial cannot be calculated from its total milligrams, see the peptide stacks guide.

Storage & handling

  • The approved product's storage tells you what the molecule tolerates: Forzinity is stored refrigerated at 2-8 C and must not be frozen. After the first dose, the opened vial may be kept refrigerated or at room temperature between 20-25 C.
  • Discard 8 days after first opening. This in-use limit is set by the benzyl alcohol preservative rather than by peptide stability, and it is a useful calibration point for anyone judging how long a reconstituted multi-dose vial should be trusted.
  • Research-market SS-31 lyophilised and unopened: store cold and dark, typically at -20 C for long-term storage, with refrigeration generally described as adequate for shorter periods. Keep the vial in its carton.
  • After reconstitution with bacteriostatic water: refrigerate at roughly 2-8 C and do not freeze. Freeze-thaw cycling degrades peptides in solution and is the most common avoidable handling error.
  • Add bacteriostatic water slowly down the inside wall of the vial rather than onto the powder, swirl rather than shake, keep the stopper clean and use a fresh needle for each withdrawal. Mechanical agitation causes aggregation, and no preservative compensates for repeated entry with a contaminated needle.

References

Primary regulatory source: FORZINITY (elamipretide) injection, for subcutaneous use - FDA-approved prescribing information, Stealth BioTherapeutics Inc., Initial U.S. Approval 2025. Accessed via the DailyMed structured product label, setid 146bf34c-76f2-48db-ac07-fb29cce2cd75, NDC 72507-800-04, label version published December 2025. All statements on this page attributed to the label - the indication and its accelerated-approval basis, the 40 mg once-daily dose, the mechanism-of-action sentence, the Section 12.3 pharmacokinetics (dose proportionality 2-80 mg, Tmax 0.5-1 h, ~92% absolute subcutaneous bioavailability, ~0.5 L/kg volume of distribution, ~39% protein binding, sequential C-terminal metabolism to inactive M1 and M2, ~100% urinary recovery at 48 h, renal-impairment AUC increases of 39/75/125%), the Section 12.2 QTc finding, the Section 14 clinical-study description including the failure to beat placebo on both primary endpoints, the Section 6.1 adverse reactions, the benzyl alcohol and hypersensitivity warnings, and the Section 16 storage and 8-day in-use limit - are drawn from that document. Clinical programme, from the ClinicalTrials.gov registry: NCT03323749 (Phase 3, elamipretide in primary mitochondrial myopathy, terminated); NCT06373731 (ReNEW, Phase 3, subcutaneous elamipretide in retinal disease, active not recruiting); NCT02814097 (Phase 2, four weeks of subcutaneous elamipretide); NCT02367014 and NCT02245620 (MTP-131 in mitochondrial myopathy and skeletal muscle function, completed); NCT02653391 and NCT02693119 (topical formulation, completed); NCT01755858 (intravenous Bendavia in reperfusion injury during angioplasty, terminated). Chemical identity: PubChem CID 11764719 - molecular formula C32H49N9O5, average molecular weight 639.8, sequence D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2 where Dmt is 2',6'-dimethyltyrosine. Approval status, indications, trial status and labelling can change. Verify the current label at DailyMed and current trial status at ClinicalTrials.gov rather than relying on the date of this page. Nothing here is medical advice, and research-market SS-31 is not the approved product described above.

Guide FAQ

Quick answers about guide scope, access, and educational use context.

What is SS-31 peptide?

SS-31 is a synthetic mitochondria-targeting tetrapeptide, D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, with a molecular weight of 639.8 Da (C32H49N9O5, PubChem CID 11764719). It has carried five names across its history: SS-31 from the original Szeto-Schiller academic series, MTP-131 and Bendavia in clinical development, elamipretide as its international non-proprietary name, and Forzinity as the FDA-approved product. It works by binding cardiolipin in the inner mitochondrial membrane.

Is SS-31 FDA-approved?

Yes, but narrowly. Elamipretide was approved in the United States in 2025 as Forzinity, indicated to improve muscle strength in adult and paediatric patients with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg. It is an accelerated approval based on an intermediate clinical endpoint, and the label states that continued approval may be contingent on confirmatory trials. SS-31 sold as a lyophilised research vial is not that product and is not approved for any use.

What is the approved SS-31 dosage?

40 mg subcutaneously once daily for patients weighing at least 30 kg, at the same time each day, with a reduction in adults with severe renal impairment. If a dose is missed the label directs skipping it. Research-community discussion typically reports 5-10 mg per day, which is a quarter to an eighth of the approved dose and has no study behind it - the label's own data show dose-proportional exposure from 2 mg all the way to 80 mg, so there is no pharmacological ceiling explaining the lower figure.

What is SS-31's half-life?

The FDA label does not state one, which is unusual for an otherwise detailed pharmacokinetics section. What it does report: Tmax 0.5-1 hour after subcutaneous injection, absolute bioavailability around 92%, volume of distribution around 0.5 L/kg, protein binding around 39%, minimal accumulation on daily dosing, and approximately 100% of the dose recovered in urine within 48 hours as parent drug or its inactive M1 and M2 metabolites. Any specific half-life figure you find elsewhere did not come from the label.

How does SS-31 work?

The label describes it as a mitochondrial cardiolipin binder that localises to the inner mitochondrial membrane and improves mitochondrial morphology and function. Cardiolipin is a phospholipid found almost exclusively in that membrane, where it stabilises cristae structure and organises the respiratory chain complexes into efficient supercomplexes. The peptide's alternating aromatic-cationic design draws it to the negative membrane potential and lets it partition into the membrane, and the D-arginine at the N-terminus resists aminopeptidase degradation.

Did the SS-31 clinical trial work?

Partly, and the detail matters. The randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover trial in 12 Barth syndrome patients did not beat placebo on either primary endpoint - 6-minute walk distance and Total Fatigue Score. Approval rests instead on knee extensor muscle strength, a secondary endpoint, and even there the increases appeared during the open-label extension rather than during the randomised period. Outside Barth syndrome the programme largely did not succeed: the Phase 3 trial in primary mitochondrial myopathy and the intravenous reperfusion-injury trial were both terminated.

How do you reconstitute SS-31?

The approved product does not need reconstituting - Forzinity is supplied as an 80 mg/mL aqueous solution. Research-market SS-31 is lyophilised, commonly in 50 mg vials, and is reconstituted with bacteriostatic water: concentration in mg per mL is vial mg divided by mL of water added, and syringe units are (target mg / concentration) x 100 on a U-100 syringe. A 50 mg vial with 2 mL gives 25 mg/mL, so 5 mg is 20 units. The calculator on this page runs it for any vial and volume.

Why does the approved SS-31 product contain benzyl alcohol?

Because it is a multi-dose presentation. Forzinity is a 3.5 mL vial from which several daily 0.5 mL doses are drawn, so it needs a preservative to suppress microbial growth between withdrawals - and benzyl alcohol is the same agent that makes bacteriostatic water bacteriostatic. It is also why the label carries a warning against use in neonates and sets an 8-day discard window after first puncture. If you reconstitute research peptides with bacteriostatic water, this label is a useful illustration of why that preservative is there and what limits come with it.

Is SS-31 the same as elamipretide, MTP-131 and Bendavia?

Yes - one molecule, five names accumulated across its development. SS-31 is the original designation from the Szeto-Schiller peptide series; MTP-131 was the clinical development code; Bendavia was the trade name during the cardiovascular reperfusion-injury programme; elamipretide is the international non-proprietary name; Forzinity is the approved brand. A supplier listing SS-31 and a pharmacy dispensing Forzinity are selling the same peptide in very different products.

Does SS-31 improve energy or exercise performance?

There is no controlled evidence that it does. The approved label makes no such claim, and the wider trial programme argues against it: elamipretide was tested at 40 mg daily in patients with genuine mitochondrial impairment and did not separate from placebo on a 6-minute walk test, while the Phase 3 primary mitochondrial myopathy trial was terminated. Reports of subjective energy effects in research-community settings have no control group and should be weighed against that record.

Compliance and trust notes

  • Educational content only; no personalized health or outcome claims.
  • No personalized use recommendation outputs.
  • Use this material for general learning and research-context literacy.

Prefer a dedicated page? The SS-31 dosage calculator adds a concentration reference table and an SS-31-specific FAQ.

Open SS-31 Calculator

Reading an SS-31 certificate of analysis

A certificate of analysis (COA) is a laboratory’s report on one sample of one batch. The single most useful thing to know about it is that purity and identity are two separate results that fail in different ways. A high purity figure says the sample was mostly one substance; it does not say that substance was SS-31. Identity — normally a mass-spectrometry result matching the expected molecular weight — is what establishes what the material actually is, and a certificate reporting purity alone has not answered that question.

Two further limits are worth holding onto. Mass per vial is its own test: a vial can be 99% pure and still contain less material than the label claims, and every concentration figure on this page depends on the label amount being correct. And sterility, endotoxin, heavy metals and residual solvent screening are separately commissioned tests, usually priced individually — so a “third-party tested” badge asserts none of them unless the certificate names them. Check that the batch or lot number on the document matches the vial in front of you; an unmatched certificate describes someone else’s material.

Medibact does not test, endorse or resell peptides, and publishes no rating of any laboratory. How to read a peptide certificate of analysis walks through the document section by section, and what each COA field establishes covers the field-by-field detail and the laboratories that publish their methods.

You’ll need bacteriostatic water

The diluent behind every SS-31 concentration on this page

The reconstitution figures on this page are volume arithmetic — they assume a lyophilized vial is dissolved in bacteriostatic water, which is sterile water preserved with 0.9% benzyl alcohol. The preservative is what allows a vial to be entered more than once; plain sterile water carries none and is single-entry by design. Medibact supplies USP-grade Bacteriostatic Water for Injection in a 30 mL multi-dose vial, produced in an FDA-registered U.S. facility and shipped from the United States, for research use only. One 30 mL vial covers 30 reconstitutions at 1 mL each, 15 at 2 mL, or 10 at 3 mL — division only, not a dosing recommendation.

New to reconstitution? Read how to reconstitute peptides or bacteriostatic water vs sterile water. Medibact does not sell peptides.

Educational use only — not medical advice. This guide summarizes information reported in published research and community practice for educational purposes. It is not medical advice and not a recommendation to use any compound. Any doses, schedules, or combinations shown are examples of what has been reported, not instructions for you. Many peptides described here are research compounds that are not FDA-approved for the uses discussed and may be investigational or restricted. Effects, risks, and legal status vary; individual needs and results vary. Consult a qualified, licensed healthcare professional before making any decision. Do not use this content to diagnose, treat, or dose yourself.